De Buyst and Ligthart take reins in Amsterdam Six-Day

2014adam3dag043aAmsterdam, 24 October 2014
De Buyst and Ligthart take reins in Amsterdam Six-Day

Jasper De Buyst and Pim Ligthart convincingly claimed the lead in the 22nd Amsterdam Six-Day on Thursday. The Belgian-Dutch duo held an extraordinary high pace throughout night four and pushed Leif Lampater and Nick Stöpler out of the lead. The Dutch-German duo is now second overall. They are on the same lap as the leaders, but their points total is significantly lower: 244 versus 168.

Danish riders Alex Rasmussen and Marc Hester sit third, one lap down. They have 190 points, but feel the hot breath of home favourites Niki Terpstra and Yoeri Havik (185 points) on the backs of their necks.

Millimetre sprint
De Buyst and Ligthart, teammates at Lotto-Belisol next year, started the fourth evening with two second places. In the spectacular first Madison they couldn’t prevent Rasmussen and Hester from taking the win in a millimetre sprint.  Terpstra and Havik outsprinted the two in the elimination race.

De Buyst and Ligthart followed up with two victories. First, the Belgian member of the duo triumphed in the first derny race and immediately after, the Dutch half claimed the victory in the first of two keirin races. 

As expected, the final Madison was a clash among the four strongest teams. Attacks followed each other in rapid succession, but as the race wore on, no other team was able to handle the speed of De Buyst and Ligthart. 

Island 200
The Americans of Island 200 showed their strongest form during Thursday’s racing. Daniel Holloway won the second derny race in phenomenal style, while his friend and teammate, Guy East, received flowers for taking the second keirin race.

2015 Tour de France route revealed

The much anticipated route of the 2015 Tour de France has been unveiled in a glorious 3D video.

After Utrecht and the Netherlands, the pack of the 102nd edition will cross Belgium and head towards Brittany before doing battle on the slopes of the Pyrenees, the Alpe-d’Huez climb and also in Mende. Paris and the Champs-Elysées will host the final outcome.

Danny Macaskill: The Ridge


We are big fans of Danny Macaskill here at so we were excited to see what he would tackle next. TheRidge is Danny’s brand new film in which he revisits his native home of the Isle of Skye in Scotland with his mountain bike to take on a death-defying ride along the notorious Cuillin Ridgeline. Breathtaking!

Giro d’Italia 2015 – Official Promo Video


From Saturday May 9th to Sunday May 31st 2015 the pain begins for the riders, the 98th edition of Giro d’Italia will start from Regione Liguria with a 18km team time trial. The full route of the race will be announced on the 6th October.

2014 British Cycling National Track Championships – Day 5

2014 British Cycling National Track ChampionshipsResults from the final day of competition at the National Cycling Centre in Manchester where Jess Varnish won her fourth gold medal of the week, successfully defending her 2013 keirin title to add to the 500m time trial, sprint and team sprint titles she won earlier in the week.


Callum Skinner also enjoyed a fourth gold of the week with victory in the team sprint alongside North West region teammates Jason Kenny and Philip Hindes.


The women’s points race was won by Dame Sarah Storey and the men’s scratch title went to Oliver Wood.


Women’s Keirin

Gold: Jessica Varnish (Team V-Sprint Racing)

Silver: Dannielle Khan (Solihull CC)

Bronze: Katy Marchant (Unattached)


2014 British Cycling National Track ChampionshipsMen’s Team Sprint

Gold: North West (Philip Hindes, Jason Kenny and Callum Skinner)

Silver: Sportcity Velo (Jack Payne, Matthew Rotherham and Thomas Rotherham)

Bronze: Performance Cycle Coaching (Peter Mitchell, Ryan Owens and Thomas Scammell)


Women’s Points

Gold: Dame Sarah Storey (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International)

Silver: Elinor Barker (Wiggle Honda)

Bronze: Laura Trott (Wiggle Honda)


Men’s Scratch

Gold: Oliver Wood (100% ME)

Silver: Zachery May (Metaltek KUOTA RT)

Bronze: Christopher Latham (100%)






2014 British Cycling National Track Championships – Day 4


©Alex Broadway/ – 2014 British Cycling National Track Championships – Day 4 – Men’s 30km Points Race Final.

Results from day four of competition at the National Cycling Centre in Manchester where Jess Varnish’s perfect week continued as she and Dannielle Khan successfully defended their team sprint title, Laura Trott took victory in the women’s scratch, Callum Skinner made it three titles in three days with his keirin win and Mark Stewart won the points race title. Lewis Oliva also took a dramatic tumble in the semi final of the Men’s Sprint against Matt Crampton, Matt did amazingly well to stay upright.


British Cycling Sprint Championships presented by FIAT – Men

Gold: Callum Skinner (The Rigmar Racers)

Silver: Matthew Crampton

Bronze: Philip Hindes (Sprint-Team)


Women’s Team Sprint

Gold: West Midlands (Dannielle Khan and Jessica Varnish) 33.969

Silver: North West A (Katy Marchant and Victoria Williamson) 34.142

Bronze: North West B (Rachel James and Helen Scott) 34.998


Women’s Scratch

Gold: Laura Trott (Wiggle Honda)

Silver: Emily Kay (Team USN)

Bronze: Danielle King (Wiggle Honda)


Men’s Points

Gold: Mark Stewart (Spokes RT)

Silver: Mark Christian (Team Raleigh-GAC)

Bronze: Jonathan Mould (NFTO Pro Cycling)


The championships conclude on Sunday 28 September. Tickets are available on the door at the National Cycling Centre. Competition starts at 10:30am with the women’s keirin, men’s team sprint, women’s points race and men’s scratch race titles being decided.