842 days after Lizzie Deignan (Trek-Segafredo) won the last edition of the race, the AJ Bell Women’s Tour returns tomorrow (Monday 4 October).

Two days after her historic victory in the first ever women’s Paris Roubaix Deignan heads the start list as the race gets underway in Oxfordshire with a 147.7-kilometre (91.8-mile) stage between Bicester and Banbury.

In total 16 different nationalities are represented on the start line in the 89-rider field.  Britain is the most represented nation with 24 riders in the peloton.

A trio of riders – Hannah Barnes (Canyon SRAM Racing), Leah Kirchmann (Team DSM), and Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo) – will be competing in their seventh edition of the AJ Bell Women’s Tour, having started and finished all six editions to date.

The youngest rider in the race is Alice Towers (Drops – Le Col s/b TEMPUR) at 18 years and 358 days, while Trek-Segafredo rider Trixi Worrack’s in one of the final races of her career at 40 years and 6 days.

This year’s AJ Bell Women’s Tour features its first-ever individual time trial, taking place in Atherstone on stage three (Wednesday 6 October), with the overall champion set to be crowned in Felixstowe on Saturday (9 October).

Double AJ Bell Women’s Tour stage winner Sarah Roy (Team BikeExchange) said; “VeloViewer has been great to see what the courses will be like this year. The stages look like it will be really fun and interesting racing across the whole week and the terrain really suits our team. 

“VeloViewer has been great to see what the courses will be like this year. The stages look like it will be really fun and interesting racing across the whole week and the terrain really suits our team.

“I like that there’s a ‘short’ time trial this year as well. It’ll really sort out the GC which can open the racing up a bit differently for non-time trial riders.  It’s also been a special year with the Olympics and the first time we’ve had a really popular, strong stage race after the World Championships. I expect to see some great racing though, our peloton is relentless.”

Sarah Roy

Rider, Team BikeExchange

Sofia Bertizzolo comes into the AJ Bell Women’s Tour fresh having missed Paris – Roubaix; “I don’t have a lot of experience in the Women’s Tour. It’s only the second time I’ve ridden it.

“I have studied the course and expect a very attacking race. The stage profiles don’t seem too difficult, so the attack might be worth it for those who are aiming for the general classification. The time trial could also be decisive for the general classification. I expect a fast race where everyone is sharp. The latter certainly applies to me. The last few weeks I have not ridden any races. But I’ve had good quality training sessions and I’m fresh and ready to go.”

Sofia Bertizzolo

Will ride the Women's Tour for the 2nd time, Team Liv Racing

About the AJ Bell Women’s Tour

Created by SweetSpot Group in 2014, the AJ Bell Women’s Tour is the UK’s first international stage race for women, bringing the world’s top riders to compete in Great Britain as a part of the UCI Women’s WorldTour.

The race, which has been won by the likes of Marianne Vos (2014), Lizzie Deignan (2016, 2019) and Coryn Rivera (2018), attracts an annual roadside audience of 300,000, as well as over three million fans through linear and online platforms. 



Stage One Monday 4 October Bicester to Banbury 147.6km
Stage Two Tuesday 5 October Walsall to Walsall 103km
Stage Three Wednesday 6 October Atherstone individual time trial 16.6km
Stage Four Thursday 7 October Shoeburyness to Southend-on-Sea 117.5km
Stage Five Friday 8 October Colchester to Clacton-on-Sea 95.3km
Stage Six Saturday 9 October Haverhill to Felixstowe 155km


Trek – Segafredo

1 Lizzie Deignan GBR
2 Audrey Cordon-Ragot FRA
3 Chloe Hosking AUS
4 Elisa Longo Borghini ITA
6 Trixi Worrack GER
Canyon SRAM Racing

12 Alice Barnes GBR
13 Hannah Barnes GBR
14 Elise Chabbey SUI
15 Ella Harris NZL
SD Worx

21 Amy Pieters NED
22 Chantal van den Broek-Blaak NED
23 Elena Cecchini ITA
24 Christine Majerus LUX
25 Anna Shackley GBR
26 Demi Vollering NED
Alé BTC Ljubljana

31 Marta Bastianelli ITA
32 Eugenia Bujak SLO
33 Maaike Boogaard NED
36 Sophie Wright GBR
Team Coop – Hitec Products

41 Josie Nelson GBR
42 Caroline Andersson SWE
43 Pernille Feldmann NOR
44 Ingvild Gåskjenn NOR
45 Emma Boogaard NED
46 Mari Mohr NOR

51 Hannah Bayes GBR
52 Olivia Bent GBR
53 Connie Hayes GBR
54 Alice Lethbridge GBR
55 Phoebe Martin GBR
56 Francesca Morgans-Slader GBR
FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope

61 Eugénie Duval FRA
62 Clara Copponi FRA
63 Maëlle Grossetete FRA
64 Victorie Guilman FRA
65 Evita Muzic FRA
66 Jade Wiel FRA
Parkhotel Valkenburg

71 Mischa Bredewold NED
72 Femke Gerritse NED
73 Pien Limpens NED
74 Femke Markus NED
75 Amber van der Hulst NED
76 Kirstie van Haaften NED
CAMS – Basso Bikes

81 Hayley Simmonds GBR
82 Emma Edwards USA
83 Jessica Finney GBR
84 Natalie Grinczer GBR
85 Katie Scott GBR
86 Becky Storrie GBR
Liv Racing

92 Sofia Bertizzolo ITA
93 Alison Jackson CAN
94 Jeanne Korevaar NED
95 Evy Kuijpers NED
96 Soraya Paladin ITA
Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley Bank

101 Lauren Stephens USA
102 Tanja Erath GER
103 Veronica Ewers USA
104 Nicole Frain AUS
105 Nina Kessler NED
106 Abi Smith GBR
Drops – Le Col s/b TEMPUR.

111 Joss Lowden GBR
112 Anna Christian GBR
113 Dani Christmas GBR
114 April Tacey GBR
115 Alice Towers GBR
116 Maria Van’t Geloof NED
Movistar Team

121 Sheyla Gutierrez ESP
122 Aude Biannic FRA
123 Alicia González ESP
124 Jelena Erić SRB
125 Lourdes Oyarbide ESP
126 Gloria Rodríguez ESP
Valcar Travel & Service

131 Elisa Balsamo ITA
132 Chiara Consonni ITA
133 Ilaria Sanguineti ITA
134 Elena Pirrone ITA
136 Margaux Vigie FRA
Team BikeExchange

141 Sarah Roy AUS
142 Teniel Campbell TTO
143 Jessica Allen AUS
144 Janneke Ensing NED
145 Ane Santesteban ESP
146 Lucy Kennedy AUS
Team DSM

151 Lorena Wiebes NED
152 Pfeiffer Georgi GBR
153 Megan Jastrab USA
154 Leah Kirchmann CAN
155 Juliette Labous FRA
156 Liane Lippert GER

Subscribe for 10% Discount!

Join our mailing list to receive the latest cycling news and updates from our team. Receive 10% off your first order placed in our online shop!

You have Successfully Subscribed!